Olympic Games: Wellbrock wins gold in open water swimming

Four days after bronze in the pool, double world champion Florian Wellbrock won Olympic gold in open water. In the ten-kilometer race in Tokyo Bay, the 23 -year-old beat the Hungarian five-kilometer world champion Kristof Rasovszky and the Italian European champion Gregorio by a clear margin Paltrinieri.

Right after the start, Wellbrock set an example at 29, 2 degrees water temperature in the early morning hours in the Odaiba Marine Park. He immediately put pressure on in his first Olympic open water race and quickly gained a head start on the field.

Wellbrock controlled the field The Frenchman Marc-Antoine Olivier, Olympic third from 2016 and vice world champion, set out to pursue Wellbrock and skipped the first refreshment station. He soon caught up with the leader, and Rasovszky followed. But the Magdeburg resident increased the pace again and again, even though the group of direct pursuers grew larger. But Wellbrock continued to grow – he was simply too strong for the competition that day and won by a large margin.

“This is my personal summer fairy tale,” Wellbrock then said on ZDF: “The goal was a medal, I hadn’t speculated on gold. Maybe I needed the little damper over 800 meters to come back so strong today. “In his first pool competition he had up to 50 Leading meters from the finish, but missing the podium as fourth.

Rob Muffels, third in the World Championship from 2019, fell back early and had nothing to do with the awarding of the medals.

Third medal for the DSV in Tokyo For the German swimmers, it was the third medal in Tokyo after Wellbrock and Sarah Köhler in the pool over 1500 meter freestyle. The swimmers were more successful recently 2008 in Beijing, when Britta Steffen was crowned double Olympic champion and record world champion Thomas Lurz won bronze in open water. At that time there were a total of five medals for the DSV.

The last Olympic victory of a German man in the swimming competitions was even longer ago: 1988 Michael Groß and Uwe Daßler won gold in Seoul.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply