Gmail: how to disconnect your account remotely and protect your privacy

Gmail: how to disconnect your account remotely and protect your privacy; Prevent the curious from snooping in your inbox by remotely disconnecting your account on devices where you forgot to do so.

Checking your mailbox on a computer that is not your own is not safe. Out of habit or not inattention, you may forget to log out of your account before closing the browser window.

As a result, the user who goes to the webmail after you will be automatically logged into your inbox, without you knowing it. If in doubt, there are fortunately solutions.

If you have a Gmail account, Google’s email service offers an option to check the list of devices connected to the accounts, and in case of problems, remotely disconnect non-legitimate devices.

1. Go to your account settings

Open your web browser and go to the settings management panel of your Google account.

Once logged in, click the Security menu in the left column.

2. Check the list of connected devices

In the Security section of your Google account, scroll down to the Your Devices box and click Manage Devices to see a list of all devices that can access your Google account, including Gmail.

3. Disconnect devices

In the list of devices connected to your Google account, there are probably devices that you do not use or no longer use, and maybe even machines that do not belong to you, on which you have logged in and forgotten to log out after reading your messages.

To disconnect your account from a device, click the options button in three small dots and choose Disconnect. Repeat the operation for all devices that you do not use on a daily basis.

Tags:

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply