CAN: Cameroon unveils its list of 28 players, without Joël Matip

Cameroon coach Toni Conceiçao presented an unsurprisingly strong squad on Wednesday of 19 players called to play at home in the African Cup of Nations (January 9-February 6), with Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, but without Joël Matip.

They are on a mission . The 28 Indomitable Lions chosen to play the CAN at home were unveiled on Wednesday. Former PSG striker Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, tested positive for Covid – 19 mid- November , will be present in the selection, alongside Lyon winger Karl Toko-Ekambi.

Burkina Faso, Ethiopia and Cape Verde on the program

A list without surprise since the central defender of Liverpool, Joël Matip, has still not been selected, while his last selection goes back to 2015. The Indomitable Lions , who are among the favorites of the competition, along with Mohamed Salah’s Egypt, will have the difficult task of opening the competition to Yaoundé on January 9 against Burkina Faso. They will then be opposed to Ethiopia and Cape Verde in Group A.

The Cameroonians have won the CAN five times, the last time in 2017. The continent’s flagship competition is currently maintained on the scheduled dates according to the president of the African Football Confederation (CAF), despite rumors insisting on a postponement, or cancellation, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Cameroon’s list for the CAN:

Goalkeepers (4): Simon Omossola (AS Vita Club / RDC), Devis Epassy (OFI Crète / GRE), Jean Efala Konguep ( Akwa United / NIG), André Onana (Ajax Amsterdam / NED)

Defenders (9): Collins Fai (Standard de Liège / BEL), Olivier Mbaizo (Union Philadelphia / USA), Michael Ngadeu (La Gantoise / BEL), Jean-Charles Castelletto (FC Nantes / FRA), Harold Moukoudi (AS Saint-Etienne / FRA), Jérôme Onguéné (RB Salzbourg / AUT), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders / USA), Ambroise Oyongo (Montpellier / FRA), Enzo Ebosse (Angers / FRA)

Midfielders (7): Jea n Onana (Girondins de Bordeaux / FRA), André-Frank Zambo-Anguissa (Naples / ITA), Yvan Neyou (AS Saint-Etienne / FRA), James Léa-Siliki (Middlesbrough / ENG), Martin Hongla (Hellas Verona / ITA ), Samuel Gouet (Mechelen / BEL), Pierre Kunde (Olympiakos / GRE)

Attackers (8): Vincent Aboubakar (Al-Nassr Riyad / KSA), Stéphane Bahoken (Angers / FRA), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Bayern Munich / GER), Nicolas Moumi Ngamaleu (Young Boys Berne / SWI ), Ignatius Ganago (Lens / FRA), Christian Bassogog (Shanghai Shenhua / CHI), Karl Toko-Ekambi (OL / FRA), Clinton Njie (Dynamo Moscow / RUS)